The Cement Garden

The Cement Garden

by IanMcEwan (Author)


In the relentless summer heat, four abruptly orphaned children retreat into a shadowy, isolated world, and find their own strange and unsettling ways of fending for themselves...



20+ in stock

More Information

Format: Paperback
Pages: 144
Edition: New edition
Publisher: Vintage
Published: 05 Jun 1997

ISBN 10: 0099755114
ISBN 13: 9780099755111
Book Overview: Re-jacketed in stunning new series style, this is the first novel from Booker prize-winning, Sunday Times bestselling Ian McEwan.

Media Reviews
An unforgettable tale -- John Boyne * Guardian *
Hypnotic -- John Updike * New Yorker *
An extremely assured, technically adept and compelling piece of work * Observer *
Marvellously creates the atmosphere of youngsters given that instant adulthood they all crave, where the ordinary takes on a mysterious glow * Sunday Times *
A shocking book...irresistibly readable * New York Review of Books *
Author Bio
Ian McEwan is the critically acclaimed author of seventeen books. His first published work, a collection of short stories, First Love, Last Rites, won the Somerset Maugham Award. His novels include The Child in Time, which won the 1987 Whitbread Novel of the Year Award; The Cement Garden; Enduring Love; Amsterdam, which won the 1998 Booker Prize; Atonement; Saturday; On Chesil Beach; Solar; Sweet Tooth; The Children Act; and Nutshell, which was a Number One bestseller. Atonement and Enduring Love have both been turned into award-winning films, The Children Act and On Chesil Beach are in production and set for release this year, and filming is currently underway for a BBC TV adaptation of The Child in Time.