The Child in Time

The Child in Time

by IanMcEwan (Author)


The Child in Time opens with a harrowing event. Stephen Lewis,a successful author of children's books, takes his three-year-old daughter on a routine Saturday morning trip to the supermarket. While waiting in line, his attention is distracted and his daughter is kidnapped. Just like that. From there, Lewis spirals into bereavement that has effects on his relationship with his wife, his psyche and time itself.


Save:$7.92 (76%)


5 in stock

More Information

Format: Paperback
Pages: 256
Edition: New edition
Publisher: Vintage
Published: 05 Jun 1997

ISBN 10: 0099755017
ISBN 13: 9780099755012
Book Overview: Re-jacketed in stunning new series style, The Child in Time won the Whitbread Novel Award in 1987.
Prizes: Winner of Whitbread Book Awards: Novel Category 1987 and Whitbread Prize (Novel) 1987.

Media Reviews
Spooky...a wonderful novel * Observer *
The Child in Time is an extraordinary achievement * Guardian *
It is marvellously written, moving, serious, readable... If you want to be appalled, refreshed, exhilarated, enlivened - read it * Sunday Times *
His masterpiece -- Christopher Hitchens
Artistically, morally, and politically, he excels * The Times *
Author Bio
Ian McEwan is the critically acclaimed author of seventeen books. His first published work, a collection of short stories, First Love, Last Rites, won the Somerset Maugham Award. His novels include The Child in Time, which won the 1987 Whitbread Novel of the Year Award; The Cement Garden; Enduring Love; Amsterdam, which won the 1998 Booker Prize; Atonement; Saturday; On Chesil Beach; Solar; Sweet Tooth; The Children Act; and Nutshell, which was a Number One bestseller. Atonement and Enduring Love have both been turned into award-winning films, The Children Act and On Chesil Beach are in production and set for release this year, and filming is currently underway for a BBC TV adaptation of The Child in Time.