The Daydreamer (Red Fox older fiction)

The Daydreamer (Red Fox older fiction)

by Anthony Browne (Illustrator), IanMcEwan (Author)


Peter Fortune is a daydreamer. He's a quiet ten year old who can't help himself from dropping out of reality and into the amazing world of his vivid imagination. His daydreams are fantastic and fascinating - only in the bizarre and disturbing world of dreams can he swap bodies with the family cat and his baby cousin, Kenneth, or wipe out his entire family with vanishing cream.



20+ in stock

More Information

Format: Paperback
Pages: 96
Edition: New edition
Publisher: Red Fox
Published: 03 Feb 2005

ISBN 10: 0099470713
ISBN 13: 9780099470717
Children’s book age: 9-11 Years
Book Overview: Illustrated by Anthony Browne, The Daydreamer takes the reader out of reality and into the dream world of 10 year old Peter Fortune.

Media Reviews
A brilliant book - wonderful * TES *
A classic * Financial Times *
Exhilarating - briliant * Independent *
Clear and vivid prose . . . Read these aloud to your children and be unsettled by them -- Katie Law * Evening Standard *
This is a book that could be read at several levels. The dreams can be taken at face-value, but they also reveal themes that more astute readers might recognise . . . A good read * Writeaway! *
Author Bio
Ian McEwan (Author) Ian McEwan is the critically acclaimed author of seventeen books. His first published work, a collection of short stories, First Love, Last Rites, won the Somerset Maugham Award. His novels include The Child in Time, which won the 1987 Whitbread Novel of the Year Award; The Cement Garden; Enduring Love; Amsterdam, which won the 1998 Booker Prize; Atonement; Saturday; On Chesil Beach; Solar; Sweet Tooth; The Children Act; and Nutshell, which was a Number One bestseller. Atonement and Enduring Love have both been turned into award-winning films, The Children Act and On Chesil Beach are in production and set for release this year, and filming is currently underway for a BBC TV adaptation of The Child in Time.Anthony Browne (Illustrator) Anthony Browne is the acclaimed author and illustrator of such prize-winning bestsellers as Gorilla (winner of the Kate Greenaway Medal and the Kurt Maschler Award), Willy the Wizard, My Dad, Voices in the Park (winner of Kurt Maschler Award) and Zoo (winner of the Kate Greenaway Medal). In 2009, Anthony was appointed Children's Laureate, in recognition of his outstanding contribution to the world of picture books. Anthony was also the first British winner of the Hans Christian Andersen Award, one of the highest international honours for illustration. His work has been widely exhibited and his books are published all over the world.