Black Dogs

Black Dogs

by IanMcEwan (Author)


In 1946, a young couple set off on their honeymoon. Fired by their ideals and passion for one another, they plan an idyllic holiday, only to encounter an experience of darkness so terrifying it alters their lives for ever.


Save:$7.88 (76%)


19 in stock

More Information

Format: Paperback
Pages: 176
Edition: New edition
Publisher: Vintage
Published: 03 Sep 1998

ISBN 10: 0099277085
ISBN 13: 9780099277088
Book Overview: Re-jacketed in stunning new series style, Black Dogs is a dark and brooding novel from Booker prize-winning, Sunday Times bestselling Ian McEwan.
Prizes: Shortlisted for Booker Prize for Fiction 1992.

Media Reviews
Powerful... Unforgettable * Sunday Telegraph *
His best yet, which I should make clear is saying a great deal * Observer *
Brilliant...a meditation on the intoxications of violence and the redemptive power of love * New Yorker *
Superbly evocative prose... The novel's vision of Europe is acute and alive, vivid in its moral complexities * New York Times Book Review *
Compassionate without resorting to sentimentality, clever without ever losing its honesty, an undisguised novel of ideas which is also Ian McEwan's most human work * Times Literary Supplement *
Author Bio
Ian McEwan is the critically acclaimed author of seventeen books. His first published work, a collection of short stories, First Love, Last Rites, won the Somerset Maugham Award. His novels include The Child in Time, which won the 1987 Whitbread Novel of the Year Award; The Cement Garden; Enduring Love; Amsterdam, which won the 1998 Booker Prize; Atonement; Saturday; On Chesil Beach; Solar; Sweet Tooth; The Children Act; and Nutshell, which was a Number One bestseller. Atonement and Enduring Love have both been turned into award-winning films, The Children Act and On Chesil Beach are in production and set for release this year, and filming is currently underway for a BBC TV adaptation of The Child in Time.